Inspiring Museums and Galleries


Discover our Historic Past


Great Days Out in Cumbria


Step Back in Time

Lake District & Cumbria Great Heritage


Cumbria’s Living Heritage brings you an exclusive collection of great houses, gardens, museums and cultural attractions in and around the Lake District.
With 33 unique properties on offer for you to explore, from castles to much loved family homes and glorious gardens to cathedrals, museums and ruins, the only problem you’ll have is deciding where to visit first.
If you are in need of some inspiration for Days Out in Cumbria, take a look at our suggestions for dog friendly attractions, or days out with the kids, as well as literary heroes from the Lake District, an interactive map of all our properties, and a list of the attractions that also have the benefit of a restaurant or café, enabling you to enjoy some local food and drink on your visit.
If you would like to see our heritage attractions by destination, read our things to do in Kendal, KeswickWindermere or Penrith.
Levens Hall Cumbria

Things To Do

24th February 2017

Carlisle Castle

Inspire Me

24th February 2017

Map of Cumbria's Attractions

Interactive Map

24th February 2017

Brantwood - Home of John Ruskin

Special Offers

24th February 2017

Things to do

Things to do and attractions to visit in the Lake District & Cumbria. Discover places to learn about our rich past, find inspiration or simply relish the beauty of the surroundings.

Inspire Me

So many people have been inspired by the Lake District and Cumbria including William Wordsworth, Beatrix Potter, Donald Campbell, John Ruskin and many more.

Interactive Map

Discover places to learn about our rich past, from historic houses and gardens to beautiful cathedrals and quirky museums to ancient ruins, there’s so much to explore.

Special Offers

We will be regularly updating our special offers so keep checking what’s available. From 2-4-1s to free child with every paying adult, take advantage of our money saving offers.

Newsletter sign-up

Find out the latest news from all of our great houses, gardens and cultural attractions…

30th July 2017 in Blog

Cumbria’s Great Houses Encourage A Search Of Surnames’ Connections

Following on from the Lake District gaining World Heritage Site status, a cluster group of dynamic great houses, heritage attractions and museums –  Cumbria’s Living Heritage –  is inviting people to discover whether they could have heritage links to some of Cumbria’s great houses and their past and present residents….

Read More
23rd June 2017 in Blog

Lake District Gardens Offer 20+ Things To Do And Not Pass By

There are plenty of outdoor delights to be had this summer by visiting one of our many fabulous gardens. Here are our top 20 things to do if you need some inspiration when visiting our exquisite gardens across Cumbria and the Lake District. At Levens Hall and Gardens near Kendal,…

Read More



Discover an action packed history in Cumbria’s Castles. Being a border county, Cumbria has a fascinating if turbulent past just waiting to be heard.

Cathedrals & Abbeys

Be inspired by the great Cathedrals and Abbeys of Cumbria which offer a place for peaceful contemplation as well as intrigue.


The Lake District has some of the most beautiful gardens in the UK with a sunning backdrop of lakes and mountains.

Historic Houses

Discover the Lake District and Cumbria’s stately homes and historic houses which have been home to many famous faces and witnessed a wide range of events.

Museums and Galleries

When it comes to museums and art galleries in the Lake District and Cumbria, you are really spoilt for choice.

Interactive Map

Discover places to learn about our rich past, find inspiration or simply relish the beauty of the surroundings. From historic houses and gardens to ancient ruins.

" A home within a home....our love within a love" William Wordsworth described his beloved Dove cottage in Grasmere, Lake district, UK. he set up home here in 1799 with his sister Dorothy. in 1802 Wordsworth married Mary Hutchinson who also lived here. Today the Wordsworth Trust owns and cares for dove cottage and a museum, which are open for visitors. this place and beautiful Grasmere is worth visiting.

Ashraf Chowdhury, Dove Cottage

An amazing experience walking in the footsteps of Beatrix Potter. Surrounding views were astounding and Hill Top Farm itself was just phenomenal. We thoroughly enjoyed speaking to the very welcoming staff at the farm.

Noreen Nasim, Hill Top

Had a fantastic day here and really interesting seeing all types of motor vehicles from push bikes to super cars... Brilliant and even enjoyed a nice coffee in the cafe 10/10.

Martin Ollerenshaw, Lakeland Motor Museum