Following on from the massive success of our Easter quiz we have created another .

All answers can be found somewhere on each garden’s website and exploring, finding out more whilst seeking out the answer, and then finally spotting it, is half the fun.

Some intriguing facts form the answers, so something can be learned along the way – perfect rainy day or social isolation pastime.

The winner of the quiz will win a pair of tickets to the garden venue of their choice and the closing date is September 17, giving the winner a chance to do that this year, if they wish to do so, whilst the venue remains open.  If not, it will be something to look forward to in 2021.

The questions:

  1. Acorn Bank (https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/acorn-bank)

Who were the first owners of Acorn Bank?

  1. Allan Bank & Grasmere (https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/allan-bank-and-grasmere)

Which squirrel species can you spot here?

  1. Askham Hall (https://www.askhamhall.co.uk/)

Where can you find the log burning stove?

  1. Blackwell (http://www.blackwell.org.uk/)

What was the name of the headmistress who took refuge in Blackwell with her students to escape bombings during the Second World War?

  1. Brantwood (http://www.brantwood.org.uk/)

In which garden can the bee penthouse be found?

  1. Brockhole on Windermere (https://www.brockhole.co.uk/)

What was the occupation of William Henry Adolphus Gaddum who purchased this site in 1896?

  1. Dalemain (http://www.dalemain.com/)

Which animal can be found at The Nab?

  1. 8. Hill Top (https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/hill-top)

Which was the first book in Beatrix Potter’s world-famous animal series?

  1. Holehird Gardens (http://holehirdgardens.org.uk/)

The Hydrangea macrophylla species originates from which country?

  1. Holker Hall & Gardens (https://www.holker.co.uk/)

Which designer was commissioned to help with the Holker labyrinth?

  1. Hutton-in-the-forest (http://www.hutton-in-the-forest.co.uk/)

The Dovecote was known to accommodate how many birds?

  1. Levens Hall & Gardens (http://www.levenshall.co.uk/)

Which three types of fish can be spotted in The River Kent?

  1. Mirehouse & Gardens (http://www.mirehouse.com/)

What is the Lower Terrace known as?

  1. Muncaster Castle & Gardens (https://www.muncaster.co.uk/)

In which arena does the World of Owls display take place?

  1. 15. Rydal Mount & Gardens (http://www.rydalmount.co.uk/)

How many acres does the garden cover?

  1. Sizergh (https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/sizergh)

In May 2019, which object from the collection was featured on the website?

  1. Wordsworth Grasmere (https://wordsworth.org.uk/)

Which place did Wordsworth refer to as a ‘little domestic slip of mountain’?

  1. Wordsworth House and Garden (https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/wordsworth-house-and-garden)

Which river flows by the foliage-shrouded terrace where William and Dorothy used to play?

 

Good luck!

Download our Free Guide

Scheduled & Private Tours

Download our Cumberground Map!